I think I hit rock bottom yesterday. The strain and efforts I have been putting into supporting my Mum in hospital have just got too much for me. It culminated in a situation where my Mum asked for breakthrough pain relief ( around the time of the handover to night shift ) the evening nurse who went away to get the medication for Mum never returned and 1/2 hour later when mum was crying in pain. Mum buzzed again , agitated and upset. The night nurses did not know anything about Mums request and came with the long acting pain medication . We tried to explain what had happened, and thank fully the nurse did return with them short acting medication.
All this took 85 mins - from mum first buzzing for pain relief. Mum was beside herself . Saying the staff don’t care and asking if I could take her home with me.
Ive been overwhelmed with feelings if despair and hopelessness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.