10 years!

 A lot has happened in those 10 years. My children have grown up. Good things- I now have a granddaughter. My daughter got married.  
Bad things- I have had breast cancer. Good thing- I have recovered from that.
I have been on many holidays and done things with great friends.  All this has been documented on blip, sometimes in a way that only I can understand the significance of the image. It has meant I can revisit many experiences. 
As most of you know blip becomes part of the day, a pleasant ritual. 
About the picture.
I was thinking about the enduring nature of images and musing how I can look back 10 years. I then thought about this image from over 100 years ago and thought it was fitting for today. 

This is my Dad's family.  The photograph was taken in 1903. I know that because my grandfather is the baby on the right of the image and he was born early 1903. The woman holding him is my great grandmother, Catherine. Her husband George stands behind her and he was a coal miner -hewer- working at Usworth Colliery in Washington I think. The man next to Catherine is her father, and her mother is beside him. Their name is Proud but I don't have a given name, They are labelled by my Dad as Grandfather and Grandmother Proud. He was the conductor of Seaham Harbour Symphony orchestra.  George is a family name that recurs so does Catherine and Katy. There are also two Isabellas. People used to say everyone in the North East had an Auntie Bella. 
I love the styles. The watch chains, the hair bows, the corseted dresses.
Now on to Blip. A huge thank you to everyone in the community who shares a bit of their world with us. All the people taking all the photos, documenting the world, looking at the images and sprinkling hearts, stars and comments. 
It has meant a lot to me. Also a huge thanks to the people behind the scenes keeping things going and the site running.  Their work is invaluable.  
Finally a confession, I have missed a few days- not many- I went on holiday then lost an sd card - oops . But all in all I haven't done too badly. 
So my best wishes to all of you who are reading this and long may you continue to blip.
I managed to post this yesterday by mistake so I took another picture this morning.  Typical me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.