Strawhouse

By strawhouse

The Promised Land

Every week when we get to Miss E's rock climbing we gaze over the road in jealous awe at the lucky few who get to enter Costco's hallowed aisles. Out they come with their trolleys loaded to bursting point. Toilet rolls, beans, fifty tons of olive oil, more croissants than you could eat in a lifetime.....
Miss E listens with wide-eyed wonder as I tell her about the shelves stretching up to the sky full of unimaginable wonders.
"Why can't we go in?" she wails every week!!
It's so funny. Hard to explain but it's become a standing joke as we watch the people streaming out with their Sunday afternoon bargains.
Yesterday me and mum were chatting about diets and having piled the pounds back on lately. We said we must encourage each other back to Fat Club in the New Year. Then we decided there was no time like the present and we should just get on with it now.
So today was day one of healthy eating and we're going back to Fat Club on Tuesday night. It feels a bit weird to be starting before Christmas - again - but I think if I can lose a few pounds before Christmas then I'll start the new year where I am now rather than four, five or six pounds heavier. 
That's the plan!
So while Miss E scoffed her McDonalds on the way home I just had a lovely, virtuous cup of tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.