Alarming Stuff

Well we now comply with Scotland’s new fire alarm rules; three inter-connected smoke alarms and a heat alarm, tested and in place. Two CO alarms also lurking about and the old wired-in smoke alarm still going strong. The next time Barbara downstairs burns the toast all hell will break loose. Here’s a tip: if, as instructed, you plan to use the remote to test that these things are connected to each other LEAVE THE ROOM.
This has given me a new task. When I took down an old, unused smoke alarm I found that the painter had painted around the thing. I then found that the paint labelled ‘hall ceiling’ is actually the wall paint. Which means I don’t have the right colour to paint over the newly, wrongly painted patch. I feel this may run and run.
On the brighter side, I got the car back and it only cost a hundred plus quid for a brake cable (aka a length of wire). Twice. Plus fitting. Plus brake adjustment. The bright part is that a dealer would’ve charged an extra arm and a leg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.