misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

A Squirrel Return

Not the blip I expected today. I have not seen any squirrels running around or on my feeders for several months. What could have gone wrong? Lived here 14 years and have always seen or shooed away squirrels-- mostly the native greys.
I have closed up the nest hole they once kept above a bedroom window. Perhaps that discouraged them. Or the neighbour's chain saw cut down all the close old pine trees.
Welcome back, whatever the reason.
 
This one just showed up this cold (17ºF/-8C) morning eating voraciously and ignored me pointing the camera at him/her. It looks immature or not especially filled out yet. Could it come from a new nest?
It dominated the seed tray while 19 doves hung from tree branches like vultures awaiting their turns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.