sunshine

This is the kind of weather when a sundial comes into its own. I spotted a place called "Sundial Park" on Google maps and was intrigued..so went to investigate. This is in Inverleith and the sundial has been here since Inverleith Park opened to the public in 1891. It was a gift to the city by Councillor W Joseph Kinloch Anderson, whose descendants renovated the sundial in 2018 as part of their textile firm's 150th anniversary celebrations.  On two of the faces there are inscriptions - "I number none but sunny hours" and "So passes life, alas how swift".

I was down in this part of Edinburgh to visit the showroom shop of the Orkney jeweller Sheila Fleet and to order a ring which I am buying as a 60th birthday present. It features ancient Ogham script from a stone spindle found at Birsay which reads "a blessing on the soul" and seven tiny diamonds which remind me of the stars in the "Compo Stellae" where the tomb of St James (Santiago) was discovered. Inside will be engraved "stay on your path".

In my extra you can see how I spent the early part of today - down on Portobello beach with the lovely Otter :-) It was hard to say goodbye to him (and to Luke, of course).

I'm back home again now. Sarah made the tea, the fire is on and I just watched a big bright moon rising outside. Nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.