Stars

Not too much to report today. Looked around for something in the kitchen to use for the Abstract Thursday theme of "food" and came up with this.

Now that I consider the image, it occurs to me that the anise is from my mother and the bowl is from my mother in law. Whoa. Also, during a classroom observation I conducted today the young student I had eyes on correctly identified that "8 is greater than 5." So I guess there are connections everywhere with even the most mundane things. You could probably find such coincidences when observing actual stars and start to draw conclusions about them, or even try to make predictions or something. 

Fun fact. According to Wikipedia, until 2012 Roche Pharmaceuticals used up to 90% of the world's annual star anise crop to produce a key ingredient in Tamiflu. This suggests to me that there is potential for a money making scheme marketing anise pods as a cure for Covid. If anyone wants to run with that just don't say it was my idea (though you heard it here first).


Oops. Upon double checking, of course this is already sort of a thing. Silly me.


So, while I find this both predictable and a little depressing, I am now going to go secure my small hoard of life-saving anise pods in preparation for the next wave of infections just in case. Thanks mom!


;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.