Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Spinning a yarn

I love to watch Laurie work with yarn. She's an expert knitter, something I admire but will never achieve - my hands just don't work that way, they're better at plucking a guitar or pushing a shutter release. She's in a meditative state when she's knitting or, like this, winding a skein of yarn into a ball. It's relaxing just watching her. She used to spin and weave, and I'd love to see her do that - maybe when she retires.

I'm leaving on a meditation retreat tomorrow to a magical place in the forest - Breitenbush Hot Springs, one of my favorite places in the world. I haven't been for years and I'm a little anxious about getting around. It will be a very different experience than past visits; I won't be able to hike in the old growth or soak in the far meadow pool. But I will be able to have some nourishing quiet time, be fed wonderful organic meals and be among the trees with the sound of the river lulling me to sleep.

One time when I was there, I woke in the middle of the night with a song in my head; it became Breitenbush Lullaby, and the chorus is:

Oh the rain sang me to sleep last night
The river ran through my dreams
And the wind chimed in on this lullaby
In a forest harmony


Perhaps another song will come visit me.

I'll be offline until Wednesday, so will be back-blipping. Have a wonderful week, blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.