Virtual View

I'm really enjoying team meetings in VR - so much richer than zoom!

This is our virtual office for the Cyan Protect team. I'm sitting at a meeting table that can accomodate 8 people, but there are other rooms we can use (round table, lecture theatre style).  There are interactive whiteboards we can draw on, we can project slides or documents for collaboration from our computers, and we can bring in users without VR headsets using standard video.  That's me you see on the video participant screen - I was just trying to try something new out so I logged in from my PC as well as my VR headset, and so I appeared twice - one in avatar form, one on the screen.

The avatars are great - you can customise them enough that you can tell who people are really well.

The headsets are still a bit bulky and some of the features clunky, but VR tech is definitely transitioning from "toy" to "tool" even if just a tool for early adopters.  I think in a few years with slicker hardware and better integration this will go mainstream.

Until then, I'll enjoy the respite from Zoom and Teams when I can get it!

P.S. This is a "screen grab" from VR rather than a photo, but the picture of me on the video screen is a photo so I'm hoping I can get away with using it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.