....We Few, We Happy Few

By paul1332

We Were Barely Seventeen

It’s becoming a too frequent occurrence these days. Seems like I’m being bombarded with the news that those artists in my record collection are leaving us. I guess it just goes to underline I’m getting old.

I was 17 when I first discovered Meat Loaf. An appearance singing live on a show called The Old Grey Whistle Test. That led me to the album Bat Out Of Hell and the albums that followed. It was his ability to deliver the lyrics of Jim Steinman, who we also lost recently, in his own unique powerful way that made him special.

I could also talk about his acting performances, most notably for me, Fight Club, but we all know the first rule.

A great talent who didn’t have the most straightforward of celebrity lives but his music will live on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.