Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Double

Ice on the dam made for double the Black-headed Gulls.

Sad news about Meat Loaf. I saw him just once, way down the bill at Knebworth in 1985. He had a broken leg at the time and alternated between pushing himself around the stage in a wheelchair and balancing himself on cast and crutches. He didn’t go down well on the day; it was miserable weather and the crowd weren’t really there for him and he got pelted with mud and bottles. I’ve just listened back to a recording of the gig that I found online though and he seemed on reasonable form. I may not have listened to him much in the past few decades, but Bat Out of Hell is one of the few songs I seem to know all the words to and for me it’s still a comforting, moving and immersive headphones experience. RIP Meat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.