JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Inherited

This large house plant was abandoned by the previous owners of our house when they moved out in late March. It somehow managed to stay alive until we moved in at the end of July, watered only during our three brief visits. (It's a long drive from Durham to Kent.) It has grown a lot more in my rudimentary care and is now probably approaching four metres high, rather messily straggling but clearly happy close to the large window of our tall garden room. I love the intense shadow patterns it forms on the white wall on sunny winter mornings, the large, stripy leaves with their irregularly bordered edges, and the sharpness and contrast of these bright new shoots and stems. It's only now that I'm writing about it that I realise with surprise that I have never made any effort to find out what it is. Tomorrow, perhaps. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.