wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Highly recommended!

What a wonderful film this is! It reminded me of the Italian neo-realism films I studied many years ago for my degree! The film portrays the troubles in Northern Ireland from the perspective of a young boy and had us all spellbound with its unusual angles and its focus on strong family relationships and the mundane details of daily life in a working class street in Belfast in the late 1960s.

We returned home to find the discarded wrapping of a small bar of 70% dark chocolate on the stairs!!!! This could only mean one thing...Bruno, our JRT had rummaged in my work bag whilst we were gone and eaten it! We had no proof it was him and not Caesar, our GSD, (just our intuition and knowledge of our dogs!) so both had to be transported for an emergency Friday night visit to the vet!!!! Our vet (who was quite upbeat considering we'd called him out at 11.30pm!) was satisfied that our big 55kg Caesar would not need any treatment as the chocolate bar was very small. Little Bruno, however, would need to be given medication to induce vomiting! Lo and behold ...it was him, the chocolate thief.
I felt absolutely terrible for leaving this bar in my bag. We never normally have dark chocolate in the house (it was a leftover gift from Christmas that I had put in my bag as an emergency 'pick me up' snack if needed). We were frantic with worry (I could have been sick myself I was so anxious) but the vet said that we had caught him in time (4-6 hour window) and he will be fine as there is now absolutely nothing left in his stomach - poor little thing! We are so relieved (albeit very much poorer...but who cares so long as he's ok)!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.