hpx

By hpx

Gardening with a crowbar

Living on an ancient river bed requires a heavy duty crowbar when gardening. It's no longer a requirement every time I garden but was essential today.

It's a beast of a thing. It's 2.5-3m long and weighs at least 15 kgs. It has its own special slot in the garage to prevent it falling over and donging me on the head.

Today's use was to prepare the planting hole for my new lemon tree. This one I'll plant and treat differently than the one I lost to frost. For starters my preparation is better.

A bigger hole and a better mix of goodies to go in it tomorrow. This time I'll let it establish for a year or 2 before I let it fruit, to allow it to concentrate on growing roots and branches.

All of this will help it cope with frost and I'll be more diligent to provide protection during winter. It's possible to grow citrus this far south, you just need to be careful.

Now I'm thinking that I should plant another citrus....

Today's gratitude: For spotting the pipe and not putting the crowbar through it. I'm very grateful about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.