Schooner

The SK is freed from quarantine! Obviously she did what she’s been gagging to do all week. A walk in the country? A stroll round galleries? Don’t be daft. Waitrose was calling! So I chummed her along, which was probably a mistake as I’ve been gently reducing my food intake (aka getting “beach ready”). Actually, don’ t tell the authorities, but she sneaked out on Wednesday night. She was lying in wait for me behind a neighbour’s campervan with a melee weapon as I made my way home from the boozer at midnight! Too many PS4 games, I reckon.
Anyway, I managed to burn off about 2 calories on a walk to the boat (above). Then we were off to Vue to see Belfast - a eulogy to his childhood or something by Kenneth Branananananagh. What an excellent performance by that young lad Jude Hill - by all the main characters in fact. The least authentic parts for me were the “troubles” but hey, I wasn’t there. They just felt a bit theatrical - which is fine if that was his intention. And I tell you, if you like old Van Morrison, there are treats aplenty. All most lovely; I reckon you’re allowed to get a bit sentimental about childhood when you’re in your sixties as Sir Ken now is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.