Caley Canal in occasional sunshine

This morning I perambulated (do you like that word?) on the towpath, where there were patches of sunshine, and occasional people. I’m now watching Auchinleck Talbot play Heart of Midlothian in a glamorous  Scottish Cup tie. I lived in Kilmarnock in the 1980s and Killie is not far from Auchinleck, but I only visited the former mining village once, having boarded the wrong train in error. Hearts are cruising 3-0 up as I write. There was a day in the mid-eighties when the streets of Kilmarnock were flooded with people sporting black and yellow hats and scarfs. It amazed me that all these folk could come from such a small place. They were like the invading hordes. They looked fanatic. Apparently Talbot were in the semi-final of the Scottish Junior Cup being played at Rugby Park, which is actually a football ground. God knows who the other team was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.