GrahamMcArthur

By GrahamMcArthur

Control

On the first Sunday of the month a group of us old farts from the Kilkenny Cycling Club get together for dinner at a different location each time. Tonight we went to the Old Spot a few kilometres north from my place. As I in the final day of a coaching course I had about 30 minutes to get from one to the other. I needed a blip and the light was fading from the day. On the way I passed the Parafield Airport, so I thought I would stop and get a quick shot for a blip. Nothing exciting, but at least I got a blip in.
Now I can relax and enjoy the live streaming of Paris Roubaix.

Because I have had very little time to get online this weekend I have fallen behind in checking out everyones blips. Hoping I can get back to normal tomorrow.

The Parafield ATC tower (former Operations and Administration Building) is
of historical significance in the national context for its associations with a key phase in the development of air traffic control services and airport facilities in Australia. It is also of significance as a rare early surviving example of a building designed for the purposes of air traffic control (integrated with other administrative and terminal facilities). Despite significant alterations, including the replacement of the original cabin, sufficient of the fabric survives to suggest the original form and design of Australia's first national standardised model of air traffic control buildings.
The Parafield ATC tower is one of three almost identical integrated Operations and Administration buildings constructed at major airports in Australian capital cities between 1939 and 1941 (the others were at Mascot (Sydney) and Archerfield (Brisbane).

It is likely that the Parafield building has been associated with the provision of air traffic control for longer than any other surviving building in Australia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.