The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

EGB3

This is a soft-focus view of Gus, otherwise known as a blurry, should-have-used-a-tripod shot, but I was half way down the steps to the cellar, and that would have been too much of a faff.  However, this shot does show off part of his peachy ruff, which is not always obvious in his portraits.  Here he is lying on his Christmas present from Alison.

It had been a day of unremitting greyness, not the best conditions for outdoor photography.  I took the camera with me on our run out to Greenodd for Potato Day, but everywhere looked flat and dull, and we were in a hurry, so I never took it out of the bag.  As usual I bought far more seed potatoes than we have space to grow, though I also got the garlic bulbs and onion sets.  Everything else we need can now be ordered as seeds.

We didn't want to leave Gus at home too long on his own, so after getting a few essentials in Ulverston, we headed home.  Something I didn't say on the last Gus blip was that although Gus came to us nine years ago as a polite and well-mannered dog, in his old age - as many humans do - he has acquired one or two bad habits.  Not growing old disgracefully, as I intend to do, but just committing the occasional indiscretion, or is he just trying to help out by watering the peace lilies?  He was pleased we were home, and he's had another good day.  One day at a time, enjoy every moment, indiscretions and all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.