Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Plan D*

Watched the Tsitsipas/Fritz game this morning. All 3 hours and 23 minutes of it. Tough how one has to lose on maybe just 1 centimetre... 

I rang the cooncil to request a new bus pass. No bother. The polite helpful chap got my details but told me that as they’re busy issuing 22,000 free bus passes to everyone under 22 (SNP election bribe?) then it might take longer than usual. 

He then asked ’Now, is there anything else I can help you with today?’

‘Well… How about emptying the bins regularly, fixing up the potholes, clearing the gutters, water blasting the pavements and bins, picking up litter, removing chewing gum from pavements…’
I didn’t say.

JR took Archie out for a walk while I stayed home to await this week’s food delivery. There are over 300 deliveries in Edinburgh! I tracked my box in the last half hour, and he delivered 11 boxes before mine, all within a couple of blocks. Amazing that it’s so popular. The young delivery chap loves bringing my box - we’re on the ground floor, not away up loads of stairs. Though he must be so fit.

When JR then went to the supermarket, Archie and I took a walk round a few blocks. I popped in to the new coffee place, which is just doing takeaways at the moment while they open up the cafe proper, so I had to go and sit on a nearby wall to drink it. I can’t walk and drink coffee!

I’ve been lusting after this little beauty. It’s an e-scooter with a seat. And a basket. Perfect! I could fold it up and take it in the car to any place with cycle tracks, while JR could whizz along on her E-bike. BUT… I have now read that, contrary to my assumptions, these e-scooters are NOT allowed on cycle paths (probably because they can go so fast). DRAT! That’s the end of that little bright idea.

Here’s Archie giving me the eye patiently waiting to be invited to sit on my lap. He got his wish.

Tonight I made Fruity Moroccan-style chicken stew and couscous, and it was easy peasy (or else I’m getting more organised in the kitchen). And it was excellent - tastier than anything we had when we were actually in Morocco.


Plan A: ebike. 
Plan B: eTricycle 
Plan C: Flying wheels on e-bike
Plan D: e-scooter with seat

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.