Is this a dagger which I see before me?

I think the distinction between film and video game is still fairly strong but it's crumbling.

Joel Coen's Macbeth, in glorious technimono with multiple light sources and fearsome shadows, is a much, much classier videogame than 1917. Better words too; I must go back and read them again.

**********

A really unusual and heartening exchange on the road today: I was cycling fast in the cycle lane and an oncoming bus moved onto my side of the road. Normally any car going my way just to my right would have cut into 'my' cycle lane and blocked me. But the one next to me held back, and carried on holding back until there was room for it to pass without endangering me or anyone else. I took off my black glove so that the driver could see my hand in the dark and gave them a thumbs up. I thought that was the end of it, but the car driver flashed their hazard lights in a thank-you to me!

It reminded me of when my children were small. When they forgot to say 'thank you' I'd usually let it pass. When they remembered, I'd say, 'thank you for saying thank you.' It worked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.