"I am nobody, who are you?"

Emily Dickinson, by far, is my favorite poet.  Her work was masterful.  So, when I decide to set about doing collages based on writers and poets it was natural that Emily would be the first.  The skull on the table is a nod to her preoccupation with death.  "Because I could not stop for Death, He kindly stopped for me..."   I've done a collage of Edna St. Vincent Millay and Virginia Woolf as well.  One of the pleasures of doing these collages is researching the women and their writing.  I've added another literary collage of a more whimsical nature as an extra.  And the fun in the studio will continue on this snowy day.

Here is the rest of the poem:
I'm Nobody! Who are you?
Are you – Nobody – too?
Then there's a pair of us!
Don't tell! they'd advertise – you know!

How dreary – to be – Somebody!
How public – like a Frog –
To tell one's name – the livelong June –
To an admiring Bog!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.