Elephant Grass

While I was out the other day, I noticed a couple of old stems of elephant grass with fancy seed heads on…they are leftovers from a previous crop which was grown as biofuel for Drax power station. Today I went back to try and get a photo of some of it…but the lack of sunshine made for a very grey image….soooooo….flash and ‘invisible’ black background to the rescue! Smallish aperture, fast shutter speed allows almost no ambient light in, and so without the flash the frame is almost black. Add in some flash and the subject lights up….and in this case the trees and hedges behind are about 150-200 metres away, so even with the flash almost straight on, it does not show them up.

Walking home up the lane a small group of deer ran across in front of me and disappeared off into the distance.. I only had the 24-105 lens with me,  and even though they were about 400 metres away, I shot anyway. Result (heavily cropped) in extras :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.