Mr Kite

I was eating my lunch when I saw a red kite swooping over the farmyard next door. I grabbed the camera, ran outside and snatched the above shot. Shame the light was so poor and it didn't come closer. 

I had a letter from my sister in France with some wildlife cuttings. She says that kite in French is milan, the same as an anti-tank missile that her husband operated during his military service.

Yesterday on Antiques Road Trip they visited The Hippodrome in Great Yarmouth and did a piece about the first black circus owner Pablo Fanque. Researchers for the programme were inspired by a poster advertising a benefit gig staged by Fanque for a Mr Kite - its text taken virtually word for word by John Lennon for the Beatles track. The song was banned by the BBC because it was thought that Henry the Horse referred to heroin. Fanque was famous for waltzing on horses.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.