Lovely colours

Yesterday, there was meant to be a severe storm; there was a brief period of heavy rain during the time I walked to the train station. There was more severe weather further north, apparently. Today has been hot, almost windless and very humid.

As I have done all week, I went for a lunch time walk. Today, I sat in the shade to complete the Guardian cryptic crossword while eating my sandwiches. Yesterday I had sat on a seat in the sun ruminating on the email I had received offering me work back in the inpatient unit the week after I am being farewelled by everyone. I was able to clear up the misunderstanding later in the day. Much more relaxed today

Perhaps these flowers helped.

Daughter C (had her booster vaccine dose this week) is very anxious about omicron and going back into the classroom, We were able to talk through her legitimate fears, and then put them in perspective. The fear arises because from the 1960s, most people in western democracies have not expected that they could get really sick, and even die, because of infections such as influenza, pneumonia, and the like. Covid-19 has turned that upside down inside out and shown us that we have taken our good fortune for granted. 

If I'd known beforehand of the topic of conversation when we visited, I would have tried to get her some flowers like these to cheer her up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.