What place is this that lies so cold?

I'm sure it is a combination of winter, the ongoing pandemic, being stuck at home and not having any work in at the moment, but this winter has been an absolute shocker for me. Mentally, I am at a low ebb. I don't suffer from depression or mood swings (unless Liverpool are playing, and then my mood swings are rapid and total) and I can't seem to shake it. I've given up drinking, been getting increased amounts of sleep, been eating better... but I'm still a basket case.

While the obvious lesson to be drawn is to not give up drink in the middle of winter in the middle of a pandemic, I can't help but wonder if I am a late arrival at the mid-life crisis. I'm not sure I want to buy a Ferrari and find a plastic blonde, but there is a yearning for something more. If I could transpose my life here to a warmer climate - say Greece or Spain or southern France - I would do it in a heartbeat. 

Thankfully Mrs. Ottawacker is a wise influence!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.