Sunshiny Day

It was a very springlike day today with sunshine from dawn till dusk and intense blue skies. It makes such a difference to one’s mood when it’s sunny.

I walked across to Bruntsfield first thing and had a Costa coffee before ambling back to drape my washed bed sheets over the patio table to dry in the sun. I so miss my washing line at the old castle. Although the washing dries very quickly in the boiler cupboard of the Dower House, it doesn’t have the fresh air smell it would have had drying outside. However,it’s not a good look for the patio so I only do it occasionally.

Having blipped every day for nearly 13 years, necessity has made me notice things which I might not have in days of yore. Today, I altered course to blip the stripes of sunshine on the roadway across from the building site that is about to be the Edinburgh College of the Futures.

I have ‘a thing’ about chimneys and my extra is of those belonging to the tenements along Glengyle Terrace by Bruntsfield Links. I try to imagine what the chimneys must have been like when everyone had coal fires. I lived nearby during that time but being a child (and not a blipper!) I would not have been interested, being too busy playing in the street with my pals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.