Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

New Rose

First of all, mist, then the sun burned through, then mist again. In a short space of time time the sun won the third round and cheers went up all around town. At least, I swear it did.

In the morning I attempted to hang my outside lamp. I say attempted because after all my efforts it didn't work. But for my pains I managed to work outside, in the sunshine.
I spotted a number of things during my time up the ladder; I counted at least four ladies of the street in their fleecy dressing gowns and slippers coming out to chat to the neighbours. Cars were in sudden need of a wash it seemed, accompanied by music. Makes light work I'm sure.

The elderly gent delivering the pile of advertising mags, very dapper, in suit and tie, slightly limping, having difficulty breathing, walking back and forth to his parked car to retrieve the next pile of bumpf for the next house.
He seemed pleased that I was outside, it said it saved him the effort [of putting the bundle through the letterbox]. I noticed his chunky gold watch, and a ring on his hand, enormous, gold, studded with (fake?) diamonds. Elvis would have been jealous.

In the afternoon I cycled down to a small village called Riel. Determined to find the benkske adorned with cornflowers, I found it. And sat on it for a while, watching the world go by and enjoying more sunshine.
A girl could get sunstroke!

Back in town I cycled up to the magnolia clump of trees I found yesterday, I swear they've opened up just a little more in the last 24 hours.

Home, I decided it was time to plant the new rose (as an aside, best drum intro, ever!) and numerous bedding plants I'd bought last week. At last, the ground wasn't frozen any more!

I think spring has finally arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.