SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Vegemite "Proudly Australian"

Apparently this is now true!  For my entire life, Vegemite pretended to be Australian.  Kind of topical in a way given we've just celebrated / commiserated "Australia Day" / "Invasion Day" depending on your view.

Anyway, I thought the "Proudly Australian" looked bigger than usual, which annoyed me so I searched "who owns vegemite" and, surprise, surprise, it was bought by the Bega Cheese company in 2017.  They state "Bega Cheese Limited purchased the VEGEMITE brand in 2017, returning VEGEMITE to Australian ownership for the first time in over 90 years."  Well I'll be!  More here if you're interested.

As you can see, Promite, Marmite and MightyMite (a new kid on the block, probably launched when Vegemite was still in US hands) are not quite as popular in our supermarkets.  I've got to say I've not kept up with the variations on the tried and tested theme.  "Gluten free" (green band) I get but "40% less salt" (blue band) kind of defeats the purpose in my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.