Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Quilting

I spent yesterday fastening the three panels together - I opted to join them one above the other into a long strip which I will make into a wall hanging.  Today I have cannibalized an old duvet cover to obtain some backing material.  And I've made a start on the quilting.  I've opted for hand quilting of the designs - I find the hand stitching quite restful, and it meant I could use this rather nice silky thread.  Not sure where it came from, but it was no doubt among the stuff I have acquired from relatives over the years.  It's quite delicate - I would never have risked using it in the sewing machine.  

When I get to the long straight lengths to quilt the sashing, I'll probably do that on the machine.

I'll treat you all to a blip of the completed object in a few days!

We have resolved that we will be making looonnnggg "to do" lists this weekend, and that as from next Monday, we will spend some time every day sorting something out prior to moving.  

One item that needs to be added to the to-do list is to drink large amounts of gin and wine - we (technically*) can take no more than our duty free allowance into the EU, even though we are relocating - which seems distinctly unfair.  Any volunteers to help with consumption can expect to take some away - and possibly also some pot plants, as these too cannot be imported into the EU.

* though see 4th paragraph of this.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.