SHB

It sounded like a good idea this evening: take Django out for a walk, leave him outside the Spice House whilst placing my order, and then walk him around the town until it was ready to pick up. But, rather than the usual 30 minutes' wait on a Friday evening, I was promised my food in ten! So, after a quick tour of Kirkhill and the park, I dumped Django at home and collected my meal. The main container was emblazoned with the legend "SHB" for my go-to dish: their special biriyani. With the sauce as well, the portion is huge, so what I don't eat gets saved for lunch the following day. As ever, the biriyani and chilled "Chock O'Clock" stout were excellent.

Earlier, I'd completed my contribution to the next release of our software, so could start thinking further ahead. A very impressive PhD applicant wants to work with me, and I was going to say "no" - because he might just be too good - until I thought of a plan whereby he can do enough research whilst contributing to the software and sent it to him. Depending on what he wants to do afterwards, it would be an attractive project. Taking on a PhD student is a big deal: it's a huge commitment by both parties and, unless you know the person beforehand (as I did with И and M) there's always a step into the unknown. Scary... but exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.