Chance

As I pulled out into the street on my bike this morning, listening carefully but not looking properly behind me, the intelligent segment of my brain woke up and reminded the rest of me, as it often does, that a chance crossing of paths can, at any moment, change everything. And does, but it wasn't my turn this morning.

I was on my way to our choir practice (yes, Sunday lunchtimes - just about the most inconvenient time possible) where we are rehearsing for two concerts in Grenoble at the beginning of May. Our choir is twinned with a choir in Grenoble and each year we agree what we will sing together, rehearse separately then meet for the concerts, here or there in alternate years. Singers from the host choir  provide bed, board and activities and we get to know each other well. My hosts from my first visit four years ago were such a good match that we've met in Oxford and Grenoble several times since, as well as in Brittany where they have now moved. I'm very happy to discover that they'll be visiting Grenoble while I'm there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.