'Don't make eye contact'...

... he's doing another one of those emergency blips again!



Update on my British Gas rant from yesterday; I woke up several times during the night - I think my subconscious was worried about an engineer calling at my Dad's door first thing in the morning and disturbing him when they were no longer needed.

So I went online again at 7.30 to try to cancel the engineer appointment; like last night, the same site unavailable error message was returned. 
So I next tried the 24-hour phone line which after I went through the options process to cancel a booking told me there was no appointment pending!
I went back on again and chose the option for booking an engineer, in case that was what was needed - that gave only the option of going online to book, with no human to human contact offered. Which of course is the best thing to offer to people in crisis who may have no internet access!
At least at that point I knew (well, hoped, because I wasn't sure what to believe by this point) that there wouldn't be someone turning up to confuse my Dad with an unnecessary repair.

At 8.00 I called a separate customer service number that is only open from that time, and got through to someone straight away who I instructed to cancel the HomeCare cover. (The cover had just had the annual renewal on 18th January, so was within the 14 day cooling off period. I was well cool!)
To be fair, she was very apologetic and cancelled it without further issue. So a kind of positive experience to end the saga, but truly, as an example of how not to run such a service you wouldn't believe any company, big or small, could have such an abysmal example of policy and practice.


Anyway, here's a photo of the dog; normal service will be resumed....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.