Last Light

This afternoon’s quick trip to Llandudno is really just to return an item to M&S, but of course, we have to visit West Shore just in case there is anything worth photographing. I’ve grabbed my backpack with my lenses, but inexplicably I’ve left my actual camera in the house! Still, there’s always my iPhone, so leaving G in the car (he’s tired after a day of serious gardening) I wander down to the beach. By now the sun is just about to slip behind a bank of heavy cloud, and the wind-whipped sea is dark and uninviting, but there’s just about enough light to tinge the waves and wet sand with a golden sheen. 

At the water’s edge I find a lone wind surfer, his sail and board prone across the shallow water, illuminated by the setting sun. I assume he is returning from the sea, but  engaging him in conversation, I find he’s actually heading out into the fast-encroaching darkness. I question his sanity, but he assures me there’s enough light for an hour’s surfing, and that today the temperature is positively warm! Eventually, his preparations are complete, and he heads off across the bay, just as the sun sinks behind the clouds, no rays to spotlight him. 

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, hearts and stars for yesterday’s oyster catchers  - all very much appreciated! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.