organized chaos

By gypsysunrainbow

All You Need is Love

"There's nothing you can do that can't be done.
Nothing you can sing that can't be sung.
Nothing you can say but you can learn how to play the game
It's easy.
There's nothing you can make that can't be made.
No one you can save that can't be saved.
Nothing you can do but you can learn how to be you
in time - It's easy."

This is just one of the many bags of school supplies that had been accumulating in my room. This past year I have spent many days volunteering at Teacher's Treasures in downtown Indy which provides school supplies, personal care items, bookbags, even hats and gloves to teacher's in the county who are at schools where more than 40% of the students are on the reduced or free meal plan. I was touched by teachers who would come in and tell me their classroom ran out of pencils that week and they were so grateful for everything that Teacher's Treasures has done for their students.

Since the economy has been doing worse, however, need is up and donations are starting to fall short of what they need to give teachers the supplies they desperately need: paper, pencils, pens, notebooks, etc.

Anyhow, thanks to the girls on my floor, we collected a trunk load of new and gently used supplies to give to Teacher's Treasures. As I cleaned my room, I realized how much some students probably throw away, so it was good to know we could put it all towards a good cause.

Have a good one, everybody :O)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.