A bit of turmoil

Heard the wind getting up this morning before daylight.  Also some really scary gusts, so I had already made up my mind before I got up that I did not want to do parkrun. Many of the parkruns around had already cancelled but Edinburgh said initially it was still on.  However, a little later the park benches were being blown over, so that was the cue to cancel. Shortly afterwards a tree came down right across the course, so obviously conditions were very dangerous. More than half of Scottish parkruns were cancelled today.

A little later, while having our coffee I saw our (fairly heavy) garden bench being overturned by the wind and moved across the patio. I also had to rescue the cover from the garden table before it flew over the fence.  

It calmed down a bit later in the morning so we took a walk to the park, carefully avoiding going under the trees. Lots of small branches on the ground, but we didn’t see any major damage. The big rubbish bins in the street are always vulnerable to being blown over though.

So that was Storm Malik.  Apparently Storm Corrie is coming along tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.