My Career As A Curtain

‘Instead of hiding behind the curtain,
be the curtain itself; you will never be found!’
- Mehmet Murat ildan
 
‘Shut the windows, draw the curtains,
keep the rumour out!’
- L.P. Hartley, The Hireling
 
 
It was easy being a curtain.
All I had to do was hang around.
Sometimes open. Sometimes closed.
There was no stress. I was always certain
of what was required of me.
 
I wasn’t a thick, heavy curtain, full
of dust and odours. I was a veil,
a pale sheet if you like, a slight presence
that let in light. I had an innate sense
of what was right. I was discreet.
 
And I kept the rumours out. For you’d
be amazed at what was suggested went on
behind me. Some rumours were crude,
of course. Some far-fetched. I’d have denied
them all, if asked. But would I have lied? Ah well,
 
who’s to say. But no one questions curtains.
All you have to do is hang around. Open 
sometimes. Sometimes closed. I’d recommend
becoming a curtain if your dealings are dodgy.
Or if you’re a particularly private person.


Trick Out The Truth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.