At Rotherham Parkrun

Happy birthday to me!

Woke up, put on my running gear, walked down into Rotherham town centre and ran my first parkrun since before the lockdown (Morecambe in February 2020). The course was a bit undulating for me (now a softy southerner used to London's largely flat courses), but this was also my first parkrun since getting injured earlier in the year. Nice friendly locals to talk to afterwards over a cup of Yorkshire tea and a flapjack!

I then had a stroll round Rotherham to suss out pubs, etc, then met Gus off his train from Leeds. We eventually found a half-decent pub (met a long-time Crewe Alex Exile friend, Graham, up from Kent), and then went to the New York Stadium. Crewe went behind but got awarded an injury-time penalty, which Chris Porter put away comfortably, so we snatched a barely deserved draw, which in the circumstances felt like a win.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.