Sprout lover

By robharris35

Gift

My visa complications since 2018 are the gift that keep on giving. With four days until my job ends, the partner who is hosting me for visa purposes announced that I need to leave the country on the final day of my contract, i.e. on Monday. This pulled the rug from under my feet, as my new organisation hasn’t finalised the paperwork I need, and I expected some sort of visa grace period.

Unfortunately all these complications stem back to being invited to do a job that has had a lot of fundamental barriers to be able to operate, and recently a management unreceptive to pleas for understanding and practical help. It’s done me a disservice, burnt me out and dented my professional confidence.

The partners are helpful and agreed to help find a solution, which involves them going above and beyond the call of duty. I’m waiting to see what plan they can rustle up.

Elsewhere today in Maputo, the road near my building has been dug up to fiddle with water pipes. At a busy intersection this is creating a new obstacle to dodge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.