Out and about - and that time of year too.

This is the first Burns Supper I have attended physically since the end of January 2020 .

Although we were all masked when not at our tables, the performers were unmasked for the songs , recitations and speeches (obviously) and this is actor Ewan Millar performing an outstanding Tam O"Shanter.   The evening was chaired by singer and broadcaster  Jamie MacDougall in wonderful musical style  and who even managed to include in his programme one of my favourite Haydn settings of a  Burns song - The Lea Rig - whilst Robyn Stapelton did another of the songs I love, Now Westlin Winds. .

I was toasting the Lassies, with the reply from Jackie Baillie, who's is the MSP for Cove where the event was held whilst Professor Gerry Carruthers gave a fascinating, erudite and almost impromptu Immortal Memory.

Lots of thanks to those who organised it, and especially Ruth Wishart.  It was not only a fine evening but also a great  re-entry to the Burns scene, which I have been celebrating (and part of ) since I was 16 .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.