flowerdancer

By flowerdancer

Curling.

With the Winter Olympics fast approaching and Curling being a popular sport, we have a strong local representation heading to the Olympics as well. I got involved in the local Curling community in 2014 through friends. I don’t play myself but there was a Scottish National Ladies competition being played at our local Ice Rink in Dumfries in February 2014 and I was asked to put on a display of my Jewellery at the event as an added attraction for those attending. In April that year, Dumfries hosted the World Mixed Doubles and Seniors competition, I was asked back again with my Jewellery over the 5 days of the event. I met and sold work to people from 11 countries worldwide. I have been asked to make many pieces since then for various Tours and Presentations over the years and I have sponsored a Ladies Pairs Competition for the past 7 years which is keenly contested as all want to win a piece of my Jewellery
The pieces in the photograph are this year’s design, I change it every year, two first prize with a touch of gold and two second prize, all silver. The competition was played in November and the presentation is always in March at the AGM. I watched a record number of ladies compete, showed them the design and gave them the choice of a necklace or brooch. I will Blip them again when they are complete but I am off to start assembling the component parts this evening.
I really enjoy being able to work to commission and make unique pieces, often with a lovely story attached. My Curling themed pieces have proved to be very popular as there is nothing quite like them out there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.