Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Baby? greenfinch

This little guy seems to be a juvenile greenfinch.

We first saw him whilst we were having breakfast, when he was on the nearest seed feeder, helping himself to sunflower hearts.  We wondered what this quite large brown bird was, but I didn't have time to get my binoculars before he flew away.  Shortly after, I spotted him on the seed feeder further away, and then I saw an adult greenfinch feeding him - at which point I said "it must be a baby".

By the time I had fetched my camera, mum/dad had left, but he was still perched on the feeder, occasionally helping himself to a seed.  He then flew into the magnolia, and sat on one of the lower branches for quite some time.  

It's January, for goodness sake.  I know the year and the weather are all over the place, but really - what on earth possessed his parents to produce progeny at this time?  I hope he survives - he seemed quite vulnerable perched in the magnolia for a long time.

Later in the morning, we spent a couple of hours clearing the cupboard where we store the sheets and towels, and identifying what duvets we possess.  We've put some items into suction bags, with labels.  And we've identified some stuff to take to the charity shop.  And I offered a memory foam topper for a double bed on the local Facebook page - it was claimed within minutes and collected within a couple of hours.  One job ticked off our "to do" list.

And a nice sunny day ended with a glorious red sunset - see extra.  Bodes well for another good day tomorrow - perhaps a little warmer would be good, to tempt us into tackling some of the garden jobs.

Our day ended with a lovely Zoom meeting with my siblings and my American cousin - great to chat folks, thanks to ArcLight for organising it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.