Marsupium Photography

By magi

at the coal face

Today we did manage to get to the National Mining Museum in Newtongrange, just South of Edinburgh. I really love visiting the place. I love the rusty industrial decay. The Lady Victoria Colliery is well impressive. The Victorian colliery produced coal until it was closed in 1981. The steam powered winding engine is well impressive. The museum is great. I particularly like the exhibition on the social impacts of mining and what life in a mining village was like. The other absolute highlight is the tour guided by one of the former miners who worked there. It's really amazing to hear how the work changed after the industry was nationalised. Unfortunately, the exhibition with the big machines is currently no open to the public. Ah well, just have to go again some time.

I have added a new page to my website with photos from the National Mining Museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.