barbarathomson

By barbarathomson

Vegetable Still-Life Therapy

Tomorrow my house will hold one vegetarian who is happy with dairy products and one vegan that is not and a gluten-free me. This poses some culinary constraints.  I thought, ‘I will make a nut roast.’ So, I found a really exciting and complicated 'Hairy Biker' Christmas version recipe, with chestnuts and cranberry, parsnip and sherry. It took a shopping trip and over an hour to prepare but that was ok as it did not seem if it would shatter anyone’s stomach or conscience. It had only been in the oven for 30 mins and I realised my major mistake. Three eggs lurk inside it as the binding agent. Neither vegan or vegetarian eat eggs………… Not even free-range.

Immersion in  some calming Art therapy was the only way to get me unscrambled because it’s no good beating yourself up over what’s done.
 
So, here’s a ‘Still Life’ made with the rest of the vegetables.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.