Theleens

By Theleens

The Fish Church

At last, a spare moment in the weekend to kick start what I used to do 4 times a week: a 1-mile walk/jog to the gym, my ass whooped by a personal trainer, shopping at the local supermarket while I'm there, and walking the mile home with shopping in hand, past this church.

It was lovely weather today, the fourth day in a row and a delight to stop using big jumpers.

On the way home from the store, I was excited knowing I would take pictures of the church in the photo. I have yet to go inside.

My friend R, a born and bred 'Stamfordite', was baptised there (or was it christened... hmm). Anyhow, he says the First Presbyterian Church is known as the fishchurch because of its peculiar shape which has been likened to that of a fish- a symbol used in early Christianity. The fish shape is apparent both in the profile and in the floor plan of the structure' - Wikipedia.

In the Summer, there is great gospel music out on the lawn in from. I'll take a piccie and show you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.