Borrowdale Mill

After 23 years of living in the Lakes, you'd think I'd have photographed much of what was picturesque in my "back yard". Today I explored a corner of Borrowdale I'd never been to, walking along a "new" (for me) footpath to find this old mill. The footpath goes the other side of the stream, so I had to wade across the stream to get this viewpoint (good job I was wearing wellies).

I used a little stopper to give a long shutter speed, and a reverse grad to keep tone in the sky. Because I was shooting it from such a low angle, I shot a focus stack, and bracketed the exposure, so I could achieve front to back sharpness and keep full shadow and highlight details. 

Looking forward to shooting this in different seasons and with more water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.