History repeating itself (MM419)

Apollo Fly has set us the theme of a time capsule for this week's mono Monday.  I guess this is by way of a personal time capsule and a case of history repeating itself.
Over 50 years ago, I had the sort of toys I suppose many boys had then, a train set, Scalextric, Mechano, and my mum bought me an electronics kit which back then was entirely analogue and included simple single components, individual transistors, resistors, capacitors and so on.
She must have known something as ~20 years later the BBC let me loose on their transmitter networks, and I managed not to break anything.  I did (and just once) briefly put the John Peel programme (MF Radio 1) on top of A Book at Bedtime (LF Radio 4) but owned up to the station manager the next day and my career survived :-)

Our grandson James is now saying he wants to learn about electronics which has, of course, become largely digital.  We bought him a kit for Christmas, but to get to use it with him, I have had to buy myself the basic version so I can learn to program the micro controller. I managed to get the software loaded up this afternoon, have an LED flashing on the controller board - and sent James a video of my achievement  via WhatsApp!

My blip is the instruction book from my childhood kit,  and the micro controller from the modern equivalent.

For those who know about these things ... the Philips kit was all germanium transistors - more on Youtube for the really keen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.