Garden Birdwatch

I had a second attempt at the RSPB Great Garden Birdwatch on Sunday, but it was no more successful than the first. It was a sunny morning and I was surrounded by birdsong, but I couldn't see the birds. The larger trees and the hedgerows are quite dense, either evergreens or thickly grown with ivy,  and the frequent signs of movement don't often lead to a clear view of a bird. We have a large flock of jackdaws which visit daily from the tall trees along the avenue, where they nest noisily; in summer, they eat our apples and pears before they are ripe enough for us to harvest. There are also lots of fat pigeons, which are currently working their way through the meadows digging for worms. Apart from that, I recorded one magpie, two blackbirds, the robin and a second sighting of what P thought, probably correctly, was a marsh tit. We often see wrens and various kinds of tit, and sometimes woodpeckers, but none of them appeared this weekend. There are also tawny owls in the conifers, but although we hear them every night, they are hard to spot. 

I'm no wildlife photographer and don't have a long lens; I generally try to avoid photographing things that move, so I was moderately pleased to catch the robin sitting in the sun for long enough to give me several attempts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.