Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Unexpected travels

Sue usually spends Mondays with her friend Sarah, but this morning Sarah called to say she had stayed up all night watching Rafael Nadal win a tennis prize, and so she needed sleep more than company. 

Sue immediately suggested maybe we could steal the day to go out to Sauvie Island. I thought it was too early for the swans to have arrived, but I was wrong, and we were rewarded with hundreds of migrating Trumpeter Swans, plus thousands of Snow Geese, a variety of little brown birds and ducks, eagles, hawks, kestrels, and many of our favorite birds, the Sandhill Cranes. 

My 35mm lens is no good for birds, but I loved the chance to photograph Sue with her binoculars, enjoying the swans. After that we went over to my place to watch Denzel Washington’s Macbeth. Third time for me, and it won’t be the last. What a film. What a day. A change in plans does often feel like what Kurt Vonnegut called “the dancing lessons of god.” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.