Unusual bee

I was exploring, looking for bugs in the garden this morning, when I saw a bee on the foliage of an orchid. It was acting strangely, walking around, wiggling its back bit which seemed longer than most bees' and not strongly banded, and not appearing interested in flying. Its wings looked a bit odd too - quite small.

I did some research on the anatomy of bees and found good diagrams of the drone, worker and queen. I ended up thinking that the bee outside might be a queen. Further research revealed that the queen leaves the nest for her nuptial flight during which drones impregnate her. So maybe that's what she'd been doing and was just a bit knackered, as only a queen can bee.

No sign of it a bit later so if it was a queen, I hope she got back to the hive.

The extra is a hover fly which, unlike most, was being very still.

Thanks for hosting cathy1947. I hope you enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.