Happy New Year!

Today is the start of the Chinese new year and this year is the year of the Tiger.  It is a strong symbol and people like to be born in the year of the tiger!

"Tyger Tyger, Burning bright,
In the forests of the night;
What mortal hand or eye,
Could  frame thy fearful symmetry?"
William Blake

More about art and Tigers here.

The Legionary Nian was a Mythical creature that lived under the sea or in the mountains and when food was sparse would come into villages and eat the crops or even a child.  It was found that the Nian was afraid of red and loud noises!  So the colour red is a strong one which is why I have chosen to depict my tiger in a red mono.

I have decided to follow Skeena in his Mono Month Challenge.  Not sure if I'll manage the whole month, but I'll try!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.